Updated: November 12, 2020 9:00am

Pending Transactions

The Pending Transactions area enables users to access transactions that have yet to be completed. These documents are saved to the system with a status of Held, Discarded, or Pending.

Status Description
Held Documents are placed on hold in one of two ways: 1) the user clicks the Hold button or 2) the user cancels the transaction and selects the option to place the document on hold (instead of discarding).
Discard Transactions that were discarded. For example, when a user clicks the Cancel button on a transaction. A prompt with three options (Hold, Discard, Cancel) is displayed. If the user clicks the Discard button, the transaction is saved (for a limited time) to the discard list.
Pending Transactions that were started but not completed. For example, when a user starts a transaction and then suddenly closes the browser, the transaction is saved to Pending Transactions.


Filtering the list of Pending Transactions
You can filter the list of Pending transactions by Workstation or by one of the status values.

  1. From the home screen, select POS > Pending Transactions.    
  2. Enter filter criteria and then click the Search button.
  3. Click the desired transaction. To display the transaction: click View Transaction.    

pending transactions
Permanently Discard a Transaction from Pending Transactions

Users with the required permission (POS > Discard Held/Pending Transactions) can permanently discard transactions from within the Pending Transactions search results screen. To permanently discard a transaction, click Discard Transaction.
Default Status Filter for Pending Transactions
A preference enables you to select the default entry for the Status field when filtering pending transactions in the Pending Transactions area. This preference is added in Node Preference > System > Documents. By default, the Status filter is set to "Pending" which means that held and recently discarded transaction are not included.
Select the desired default Status Filter from the drop-down:

Options Description
All All pending transactions, held transactions and discarded transactions.
Held Transactions placed on hold, either by clicking the Hold button on the bottom toolbar, or choosing Hold when discarding a transaction.
Pending Transactions that were started but not completed. For example, when a user starts a transaction and then suddenly closes the browser, the transaction is saved to Pending Transactions.
Discard Transactions that were discarded. For example, when a user clicks the Cancel button on a transaction. A prompt with three options (Hold, Discard, Cancel) is displayed. If the user clicks the Discard button, the transaction is saved (for a limited time) to the discard list.