Updated: September 28, 2020 8:05am

Chapter 27. Group Management

This chapter has information about working with the Group Management area of Prism. In Group Management, users can work with group records and change permission settings.  Prism uses a role-based security system in which permissions are assigned to groups and individual employees are assigned to groups. The employees assigned to each group inherit the permissions assigned to the group. Prism comes with a default set of groups that represent typical key roles in a retail operation; however, you can define as many groups as needed.
For each group, you can:

  • Select the employees who are group members
  • Select the permissions that group members are allowed to use (default = deny)

When you first install Prism, a single default employee group called the Administrator group is created. The default Prism Administrator group enables users to log in to Prism and initialize the system (default login credentials are sysadmin/sysadmin).
When you initialize Prism, employee groups are copied from the source RIL (or the Prism POA) to the new server. You will then have access to all the groups defined in RIL. The default Administrator group is overwritten during initialization. After you initialize Prism, go into Employee Groups and confirm that the groups defined in RIL were copied correctly to the Prism server. Each employee must be assigned to at least one group and can be assigned to more than one group if the employee's role in the company warrants it.
Prism comes with a default set of employee groups (Admin, Backoffice, Buyers, Managers, POS). You can modify the permission assignments for these default groups as needed, but you can't edit the default group names or delete the default groups. You can modify the permissions for the default security groups to suit your needs. If the default groups don't meet your needs, you can create more security groups as needed. Add or remove employees from groups by editing the employee's record.