Updated: July 7, 2021 11:22am

Rename Prism Server

PDF

About the Rename Server Tool
Differences between Rename Server Tool in 1.14.7 and 2.0

  • In 1.14.7, the tool was run from the Desktop Prism TechToolkit. In 2.0 the is incorporated in the web-based Prism TechToolkit.
  • In 1.14.7, the tool was called the "Reconfigure Host Computer" tool. In 2.0, it is called "Rename Server."
  • In 1.14.7, the process was divided into two separate steps for the user, requiring the user to re-enter TechToolkit following the completion of the after-reboot program to then run Step 2.
  • In 2.0, this is a one-step process for the user. An enhanced after-reboot program now performs all the former "Step 2" processes (e.g., updating Prism tables, restarting services, and installing the RabbitMQ Shovel program if needed).
  • Users used to have access to the tool while connected to an enterprise; now, the option is hidden on the menu if the machine is connected to the enterprise. This ensures the tool is only run on the local machine.

Guidelines

  • The process described in this document requires disconnecting data links between servers; therefore, the process should be done when no sales or other activity is taking place.
  • This tool can only be used on a server used to host Prism and running RabbitMQ.
  • This tool is intended to be used only in conjunction with computer name changes not for changes like changing or joining workgroups or domains.  

Requirements

  • Before changing the computer name, ensure that all Prism activity has ceased on the server and that Prism has left the enterprise if it was joined to a POA.
  • As in earlier versions, first rename the computer in Windows System properties and DO NOT reboot the computer. After renaming the server in Windows, you will be prompted to restart the computer. However, DO NOT RESTART the computer when prompted by Windows.
  • Instead launch the Rename Server tool and run the process.
  • If you should mistakenly restart the computer, the computer cannot be used for Prism in this state. The remedy is to rename the computer back to the original name then restart it when prompted by Windows. This will return you to the original state where you can rename it - without restarting - and then use the Rename tool.
  • Do not simultaneously make other configuration changes immediately prior to or during use of the Rename Server tool. For example, if the computer is joined to a domain, do not leave the current domain, or leave and rejoin the current domain or another domain. The same restriction applies for Workgroups. Also, do not change DNS settings.
  • If several Prism host computers are connected to a POA or to other Prisms and need to have names changed, before changing the names and running the tool: All affected Prism servers must leave the enterprise and have no Prism connections. Then change the name on each computer and run this tool at each machine to complete the reconfiguration process for each system. This can be done simultaneously if desired. Each computer should then re-join the enterprise.

Detailed Instructions
Step 1. Change the computer name in Windows
The interface and steps to change the computer name in Windows will vary depending on your version of Windows. Please consult Windows documentation for the steps for your version of Windows. After renaming the server in Windows, DO NOT RESTART THE COMPUTER!
Step 2. Run the Rename Server tool
You must log in to the computer at startup as the user that installed Prism and RabbitMQ. If Prism was installed by a different user than installed RabbitMQ, log in as the user that installed RabbitMQ.
Click the hamburger menu for the server and select the Rename Server option.
When you select the Rename Server option on the server menu, a modal window opens, displaying the old name is on the left and the new name is on the right.
Click Execute Rename.

execute rename server

Step 3. System Processes and Reboot
Shortly after "Executing Rename", there will be an error message about losing a connection. This is to be expected so ignore the message. Within 60 seconds the first part of reconfiguration should finish; the computer will reboot automatically. No input is required by the user at this stage.

Step 4. Login and Complete Process
Log back into Windows following the reboot with the same username as the user who installed Prism (as explained above). The reconfiguration process will continue, displaying in a Windows form messages explaining each step being taken. This part of the process will take several minutes, approximately 6-7 minutes.
The Windows progress form will inform when the process completes, giving a specific instruction for re-joining the enterprise.
Sample Message:
Rename start message

Sample Message upon completion of RabbitMQ re-configuration:
RabbitMQ reconfiguration complete message

When the process is finished, the Close button will be enabled. Click Close.
Rename process complete message

Rejoin the Enterprise
When the process completes, log into Tech Toolkit at the POA and use the "Add Former Server" option to rejoin the host computer to the enterprise.
Select this server's name from the list. After selecting, be sure to edit the server address from its old name to the new name before completing the re-join steps.
(Note: If the renamed server had any subordinate servers, rejoin those subordinates to the renamed server before rejoining the POA.)
Regenerate SSL Certificates
If Prism or RabbitMQ are using SSL, their certificates must be regenerated after the rename process completes. After regenerating the certificate for Prism, you may use the Prism Tech Toolkit SSL Manager to apply the new certificate.