Prism Employee Management

Password Changes

Retail Pro users can change their password at any time.  The only exception is the special SYSADMIN user, whose password can only be changed in RIL and replicated to Prism. 

For password changes, depending on system setup, the user may or may not be required to enter a strong password.  With strong passwords, the new password must consist of a combination of lowercase and uppercase letters, numbers, and special characters.  Moreover, the new password cannot be similar to the last password used.  And when users forget their passwords or the password is somehow compromised, you can quickly and easily reset the password so they can try again.

Security Overrides

In Prism, if a user does not have permission to perform a given function, another user who does have permission to perform that function can "override" the restriction.   For example, Sue is part of the "Associate" group, which does not have permission to give an item discount at point-of-sale.  But let's say Sue is dealing with a customer who is purchasing a damaged item and wants a discount.  Of course, Sue knows she cannot give discounts.  So she calls over her colleague (and manager) Mary, who does have permission to give discounts.  Sue explains the situation to Mary and Mary agrees to allow her to give the customer a discount.  This is called Security Override.  And that security override would only apply to this one item on this one transaction.

To learn more, check out these training videos on RPTV:

Force Logout

Prism can be setup to automatically logout a user after he or she completes a transaction.  This may be useful in retail environments where employees share the same register and consistently fail to logout after use.  Such bad habits result in transactional documents with incorrect employee information stored on them, which, ultimately, results in inaccurate associate performance reports and commission reports.

For example, let's say Charles is ringing up a sale.  Eventually, he presses the "Update" or "Print/Update" button on the transaction.  With the "Force Logout" feature enabled, this will update the system to reflect the new sale AND automatically log Charles out.  When Mary or Sue comes up to the same register, they are forced to logon before they can use the system. 

Again, this feature ensures that the correct employee information is tracked on each transaction.  That's the key benefit.  But there is a downside to this feature.  Forcing users to logon after each transaction will potentially result in longer transaction times, especially if you're dealing with a long line of customers.

To learn more, check out these training videos on RPTV:

Auto Lock Workstation

For security purposes, employees should always logout of Retail Pro when not actively using the system.  This will effectively lock the workstation to prevent unauthorized use by others.  But to err is human, so it's inevitable that employees will, at times, forget to logout before leaving their workstation.  To address this potential security problem, setup Retail Pro to automatically lock each workstation after "x" minutes of inactivity.

Select Associate

Prism can be setup to force users, when creating a new transaction, to select the associate involved in a sale.  This may be useful in retail environments where there are cashiers ringing up sales (at the Cash Wrap/Check-Out counter) and associates helping customers on the sales floor.  This feature will make sure the cashier is capturing the correct associate information, which will in turn ensure commission and sales performance reports are correct.

Time Clock

The Time Clock system is pretty straight-forward.  You have two options - standard vs. simple.

1) With the "standard time clock," the employee is forced to log on in order to check-in or check-out.  This may be ideal in situations where employees share the same workstation and is not required to log on/log off prior to and after using the system.  In this environment, when they log on and log off, they are doing so as part of the Check-In/Check-Out process

2) With the "simple time clock," the employee does not have to log on to check-in and check-out.  The system will simply use the current user's logon credentials.  Of course, in this environment, the system is assuming that employees regularly log on and log off as needed.

There's also a Time Clock Manager available for reviewing existing Check-In/Check-Out records and, if necessary, edit those records or create new Check-In/Check-Out records.  This is useful in situations where an employee (who has the necessary security permissions) needs to check-in or check-out for another employee or to edit an incorrect record.

Published on Jul 5, 2017 in storeops

 

Find Another Article